Best Music of 2008 Part V (Songs 1-10)

12 02 2009

And you thought 2008 was over! It’s February already…

Well, for the past couple of years, ever since I started blogging about my top 20 albums of the year, I’ve also included an additional 30 songs, in no particular order, from 30 artists not already represented by my top albums. Sure, I’ve been a little slow this year, but that’s no reason to deprive my readers of some of the best songs of 2008.

Here are the first 10:

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 02 2009
zombiepublicspeaking

Yeah, that Gaslight Anthem song may have out Springsteen’d the Hold Steady. Can you believe they’re from New Jersey?

12 02 2009
zombiepublicspeaking

Second dig: that’s really more the ’75 sound than the ’59 sound.

12 02 2009
Matt

The first one is a dig?

Anyway, the point is that nostalgia always involves a chain of citations – the ’75 sound already involves a kind of nostalgia for the ’59 sound.

Btw, that Marnie Stern track you sent me is the most listenable thing I’ve heard from her yet, but that’s as far as I’ll go.

Leave a Reply

